The Desires of Our Heart

I love the law.  I love it because to me, the law represents safety, order and structure.  It is the total absence of chaos.

Yet all around us, the world is filled with chaos.  For example, people fail to obey red lights as if they have no regard whatsoever for human life.  It’s all about them getting to where they need to be or simply because red lights to them are a great nuisance.  They don’t care that one day they just might run over an innocent person in the crosswalk or t-bone and kill a family in their car on the way to a movie.  Why, then, do these same people become enraged against a gunman who shoots innocent people?  Both acts are deliberate and a vehicle can be just as deadly as a gun.

The law is not a nuisance; it is a necessity.  To me it is beautiful and powerful.  To me the law means justice.  It means protection from evil.  It means saving lives from harm.  

I like to watch Drugs, Inc. on the National Geographic channel.  Drugs, Inc. films documentaries in different cities around the U.S. and other parts of the world that feature the lives of both the drug addict and the drug dealer.

The Mexican Drug Cartel makes over 3 Billion dollars a year in drug sales.  The Cartel are in every major city in the U.S. and overseas. And yes, they are in your city today, right now, destroying the lives of people who once had a normal, stable existence as well as the lives of countless young people who used to have very promising futures.  I hope this infuriates you as much as it does me.

The rapid, growing influence of drugs  to me looks like a demonic blanket that is slowly starting to cover the entire world.  But we cannot let that happen.  

I have been asking God to put me back in law enforcement where I belong and let me go after these drug dealers.  With God, all things are possible.  And God has power no foe can withstand.  I know that and I most certainly felt that very power the day of the shooting incident I was involved in.  

My favorite Scripture is Luke 10:19; “Behold, I have given you authority and power to trample on serpents and scorpions and I’ve given you physical and mental strength and ability over all the power that the enemy possesses and nothing shall in any way harm you.”  

I love that verse.  I recite it to myself every, single day.  It is in my blood, it is in my veins, in my heart, and it is deeply embedded in my spirit.  Nothing shall in any way harm me.  Not with God by my side.

My prayer is that God will allow me to protect our nation from the enemy; from evil.  That is the desire of my heart and this desire has not, and never will, die.  God promises to give us the desires of our heart if we believe in him and delight ourselves in him.  And I most certainly do.

It will be interesting to see what my future holds.  I know that the place I am in right now is only for a moment and that God is preparing me, as he is all of us, for our future assignments.

Here I am, Lord.  Send me.

 

About jeanneassam

Law Enforcement Professional/Author of "God, the Gunman and me"

4 Responses to “The Desires of Our Heart”

  1. YES,Jeanne, I absolutely agree with you! The Lord our God places His desires on our hearts, and we can feel exactly what He wants us to do (for He has given us the skills and talents to do so.) In your case, it is law enforcement; and here you mention drugs. Terrible, awful, and destroying many communities. I hope and pray that He will give you the desires of your heart, and soon!

  2. Good luck in your quest to get back into law enforcement – from someone who figured out a similar calling too late in life! (But I’m making the best of it)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,971 other followers

